## Minutes Green Coalition Verte Annual General Meeting Friday May 5, 2023

Gareth Richardson opened the Zoom Meeting at 6:45

Charlie MacLeod called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM and introduced Louise Legault as the MC for the evening.

Agenda: The agenda for the meeting was shared onscreen and approved.

# Green Coalition Advisory Board, introduced by Charlie MacLeod

The Green Coalition's Advisory Board consists of exceptional and trusted individuals who have agreed to make themselves available to our board for consultations. They do not have voting rights on Green Coalition issues, but they can attend any of the Green Coalition monthly Board of Directors meetings and will be supplied with both the agenda and subsequent minutes of each meeting.

# Members of our new Advisory Board:

- Clifford Lincoln, former Quebec Environment Minister
- Tom Mulcair, former Quebec Environment Minister,
- Elizabeth May, Green Party of Canada leader
- Justine McIntyre, former municipal councillor for Pierrefonds-Roxboro and leader of the Montreal municipal party, Vrai Changement Montreal,
- Guy Turcotte, spokesperson for SOS Forêt Fernand-Seguin
- Howard Sauve, mayor of the Municipality of Mille-Isles and vice prefect of the MRC Argenteuil
- Scott Pearce, Mayor of the township of Gore, prefect of the MRC Argenteuil, president of the Canadian Federation of Municipalities, and former president and still acting member of the Quebec Union of Municipalities.
- Barry Kent MacKay, internationally renowned wildlife artist, founder of the environmental organization, Born Free America, and board member of several environmental organizations.
- Mathieu Madison, biologist, president of several environmental organizations
- Dr. Isabelle-Anne Bisson, biologist, president of TerraHumanaSolutions, whose environmental characterizations saved Rousseau Forest in Pincourt and stopped the development of Sandy Beach in Hudson.
- Lisa Mintz, responsible for the protections of Westmount-NDG Falaise St. Jacques, winner of 2021 Nature Inspiration Award and founder of UrbaNature, which provides environmental education programs for all ages.
- Reverend Neil Whitehead, United Church of Canada-Westmount Park United Church, environmental activist

# Recognition of VIP's present:

Former Quebec Environment Minister, Clifford Lincoln, gave a brief speech acknowledging our work and encouraging us.

### **Outgoing Board Members**

Charlie Macleod thanked the outgoing board members: Dr. Isabelle-Anne Bisson, Lisa Mintz, Rev. Neil Whitehouse, and Milan Kona-Mancini.

#### Legacy Fund Appeal

Campbell Stuart asked for support of the valuable work being done by the Legacy Fund for the Environment, which helps citizens' groups protect green spaces, biodiversity and the environment by funding legal action and promoting public knowledge and awareness of environmental laws and the legal recourses available to citizens.

Donate to the Legacy Fund for the Environment

#### **Business Meeting**

**Motion** to approve the minutes of the 2022 AGM. Motion passed unanimously

#### Treasurer's Report

Balance as of April 1, 2023: \$1,267.12

Motion to approve Treasurer's Report. Motion passed unanimously

**Motion** to approve not requiring an audit. Motion passed unanimously

Board elections / Élections au conseil d'administration

**Motion** to approve renewal of terms of current Board Members: David Fletcher, Helena Fletcher, Sylvia Oljemark, Susan Stacho, Carole Reed, Charles Macleod

Motion passed unanimously

**Motion** to confirm new board members: Catherine Vallée, Brigitte Watson Candidates gave short presentations about themselves

Motion passed unanimously

#### **Group Presentations**

Coalition terrains de golf en transition Quartiers vert et paisible RCPR Catherine Vallée Deanne Delaney Ginette Charbonneau Sauvegardons la Grande Tourbière de Blainville Sauvons Fairview Forest Les Amis du Parc Meadowbrook Save the Park/Sauvons le Parc Pincourt Vert

Non-member groups / Groupes de non-membres

Garden Crescent Green/ Croissant Garden Verte Tamaracouta Lake Association Mille Isles municipality Sylvie Clermont Veronica Crespo Deanne Delaney Patrick Barnard Carole Reed

Kirk Bennett Celine Bedard Lise Perreault

# Adjournment

Charlie MacLeod thanked groups for participating

9:30 : Meeting closed